Skip to content

Totally Trashed – Brew Dog Trashy Blonde!

December 29, 2010

I’ve always followed the rule “If it’s not broken don’t fix it” Trashy Blonde brewed by the rather enthusiastic Brew Dog team is a pretty good beer anyway, OK it’s 4.1% ABV but I can forgive them for that. I have been an avid follower of this brewery since I became aware of their existence at Beer Exposed back in 2008, great beer event shame the organisers never got to do another.

So the guys north of the border have decided to give this beer a makeover, so I got myself a bottle of each and done the taste test. I found the current Trashy Blonde had an herbal and biscuity aroma, with a hint of lemon and thyme or is it Passion Fruit and a malt background reminiscent of butterscotch. You can tell it’s a English beer you could even mistake it as a best bitter, full-bodied and very dry in the finish and very drinkable. It’s defiantly in my session beer category.

The possible successor the prototype the first thing I noticed was it was slightly darker, could be my eyes still recovering from Christmas. It definitely is much hoppier which I prefer and yes the Passion Fruit and Citrus still comes through also you could pick up the yeast more and still get the dry bitter finish. You know what  this reminds me of a few Belgian Blonds I’ve drunk recently yes this version is very Belgian in indeed.

I also read that the name will be changed to Euro Trash! Will we see Pepe and Popo or even Jean-Paul Gaultier promoting the beer with a topless German Blond! Could the Belgian influence I’m picking up and the name change be the beginning of a European influance…………..whatever it is I’ll have some.

http://www.wikio.co.uk

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

